Full Site
Terms of Service
Privacy Policy
© Copyright 2015, pantagraph.com
Loading

State police OK instructors for concealed-carry training

2013-09-24T16:00:00Z 2013-09-24T17:30:50Z State police OK instructors for concealed-carry trainingThe Associated Press The Associated Press
September 24, 2013 4:00 pm  • 

ARLINGTON HEIGHTS — Illinois residents can begin applying in January for licenses to carry concealed weapons, but so far only 54 instructors — most from northern Illinois — have been approved to train them.

State Police spokeswoman Monique Bond said the agency has received as many as 1,000 applications from would-be instructors, and is ``confident that there will be enough instructors to provide training for prospective applicants.''

In July, Illinois became the last state in the nation to approve a law allowing the public possession of a concealed firearm. Anyone who wants to carry a weapon first must complete 16 hours of training from a state-approved instructor, who must use the state's training curriculum.

Advertisement: Story Continues Below

Bond said potential instructors must meet several criteria and undergo background checks, the (Arlington Heights) Daily Herald reported (http://bit.ly/1b8X3Wd ) Tuesday.

Bond said the instructors could start providing training as soon as the state's approved curriculum goes online, which could happen next week. The police are expected to begin providing concealed carry applications on Jan. 5, with permits available in the spring.

Gregory Coyle, a National Rifle Association instructor and former competitive shooter from Arlington Heights, is among those who have been approved as instructors. He said people have already reached out to him online, but he can't teach without the curriculum. He thinks many more instructors are needed.

Advertisement: Story Continues Below

Coyle said instruction will include safety and gun-handling lessons and information on the new law, which allows for carrying concealed, loaded handguns but also keeps a number of specific locations like bars and playgrounds off limits.

``I've got people calling me about training, and I can't tell them anything yet,'' Coyle said.

Copyright 2015 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

(2) Comments

  1. LarryArnold
    Report Abuse
    LarryArnold - September 26, 2013 10:06 am
    By contrast Texas passed its concealed handgun law in May 1995. Like Illinois, we started from "no carry no how." By July DPS had the curriculum and started training (not just approving) a couple hundred instructors a week. By September 1, when instructors could legally start classes, there were over 2,000 instructors. The initial flood of 200,000 students tapered off just before Thanksgiving. Once the class was completed average CHL application-to-license was 60 days. (And we didn't have anything like the FOID card.) We started carrying January 1, 1996.
  2. Lack Of Responsibility
    Report Abuse
    Lack Of Responsibility - September 26, 2013 9:14 am
    According to the ISP website they are currently 457 licensed instructors, not 54.
Add Comment
You must Login to comment.

Click here to get an account it's free and quick